Preserving the built heritage of Port Adelaide is important to the South Australian community. As part of our activation program, we have restored the exterior of some of the significant buildings in the McLarens Wharf precinct.
We partnered with City of Port Adelaide Enfield and the owner of the iconic Customs House to restore the building’s façade to its heritage form. Work was completed in June 2014, and included the removal of external air-conditioning units, reinstatement of window panes and a coat of paint to restore this heritage building to its former glory.
Constructed in 1878–79 from a design by Colonial Architect, George Thomas Light, Customs House also forms part of a significant group of buildings within the Port Adelaide State Heritage Area. The building originally housed the Marine Board, Surveyors and Harbor Master as well as the Customs Office.